Ryan Murphy Honored for Supporting Costume Design

The Costume Rag is reader-supported. We may receive a commission from these links.

Days after Ryan Murphy was honored with multiple Golden Globe and Critics’ Choice nominations for his FX hits Pose and The Assassination of Gianni Versace: American Crime Story, the Costume Designers Guild announced that he will be honored at their upcoming awards show.

The screenwriter, director and producer is set to receive the Distinguished Collaborator Award at the 21st edition of The Costume Designers Guild Awards in Beverly Hills on Feb. 19 at the Beverly Hilton.

Murphy is being recognized for his support of costume design and creative partnerships with costume designers. Past recipients of the Distinguished Collaborator Award include Meryl Streep, Quentin Tarantino, Guillermo Del Toro, Lorne Michaels, Helen Mirren, Judd Apatow, Clint Eastwood, Rob Marshall and James Burrows, among others.

“No one can deny the indelible mark that Ryan Murphy has left on our television culture, and this year is certainly no exception,” Salvador Perez, president of the Costume Designers Guild, said in a statement. “Not only has he given us a continuation of the intense storytelling of 9-1-1 and reimagined the world of American Horror Story with Apocalypse, but his costume design teams, led by long-time collaborator Lou Eyrich, have so vividly brought the 1980s and 1990s back to life with Pose and the award-winning American Crime Story, The Assassination of Gianni Versace. It’s his remarkable eye for talent and story, both onscreen and off, that we will be celebrating at this year’s awards gala.”

He is currently writing, directing, and producing “The Politician” to debut on Netflix in 2019.

Murphy will be honored alongside costume designer Ruth E. Carter of Black Panther, Selma and The Butler, who was announced earlier this year as the recipient of the Career Achievement Award. “The decades of iconic costumes and her stunning designs from this year’s Black Panther certainly speak for themselves,” CDG president Salvador Perez said. “As one of the most innovative and passionate leaders in her craft, the CDG board and its members can think of no more deserving recipient of the CDGA 2019 Career Achievement Award than Ruth E. Carter.”